top of page

Nayantara Sahgal

Nayantara Sahgal

NAYANTARA SAHGAL is the author of nine novels, six works of non-fiction, and wide-ranging political and literary commentary.

She has received the Sahitya Akademi Award, the Sinclair Prize and the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize. She has held Fellowships at the Bunting Institute (Harvard ), the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, and the National Humanities Center, and is a Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

She has received an Honorary Doctorate of Letters from Leeds University, Distinguished Alumna Awards from Wellesley College and Woodstock School, and the Awadh Samman Award from Zee TV. She has served as Chairperson, Jury of the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, and on the jury of the Mahindra Awards for Excellence in Theatre. She was Vice President of the People’s Union for Civil Liberties in the 1980’s.


bottom of page